I just don’t get it!

At the beginning of September I was chosen to participate in a “Healthiest Loser Challenge” put on by my local Lions Club. If you missed my post about that check it out here. Well every week there are voluntary seminars (they are only an hour long) that talks about different ways to make this a lifestyle change NOT just a diet to win money, per say.  I know there were going to be people that wanted to just do this to win and their thought process would be just to walk for 20 mins but still eat crap. That just gives me the upper hand already. Well at last nights seminar we were talking about going to the grocery store and reading nutritional labels. During the beginning part of the seminar the lady that is part of the “in charge committee” asks how we are all doing so far. And then says “What week are we in? 3? 4?” Most people say 4 and some lady in the crowd says “Can we eat yet?” HAHA…Funny right? But in reality I really think she was being serious.

Another part of the challenge is to track food and exercise for the week. We can turn in the logs every week for points that go towards our total points for the challenge. I over hear another person tell her friend “Who has time to do that?” Oh…Mmm…Gee!! Are you serious? I understand people work but it’s an EASY 14 more points to write down what you had to eat. The logs were made up for us. So all you have to do if you want to use those ones is write what you eat.

I know that you are probably saying why are you venting about this? I know it’s not my life but it’s frustrating because I’m taking this challenge serious. I’m putting in all the work to change my lifestyle. I just don’t get why people don’t want to put in the effort to change and make themselves healthier. This post may sound petty to some but I guess that’s just the “helper” side of me that wants to make everything better.

I guess the upside to this is that I know I’m putting in the work and the work will pay off for me. Who know’s all this work may make me the winner of the challenge!! Ok, vent over! I promise!! 🙂

 

Leave a comment